The Bundesliga season returned from break on May 16 with four clubs fighting it out for the league title. The current title fight brings back memories of Bundesliga seasons from the past that saw some incredible run-ins. With this season’s campaign set to go down to the wire, here is a look back at 5 iconic Bundesliga title fights.

Stuttgart – 1991-92

Eintracht Frankfurt last won the German championship in 1959 and after 33 years, it looked like the Eagles were set to win the title once more. The club were 90 minutes and a victory away from winning the championship. Goal difference was in their favour and despite Borussia Dortmund and Stuttgart being on equal points, Eintracht looked set to lift the trophy. However, a shock loss to second from bottom Hansa Rostock ended Eintracht Frankfurt’s title hopes. Stuttgart’s Guido Buchwald headed the team 2-1 in front against Bayer Leverkusen to hand the team the title courtesy of goal different over Dortmund.

Werder Bremen – 1992-93

Werder Bremen and Bayern Munich slugged it out for the Bundesliga title at the end of the 1992-93 season. Although Bayern Munich ran riot for much of the campaign, the team began to run out of petrol as the season neared its climax. The title went into the final day of the season with Werder Bremen winning 3-0 against Stuttgart. Their win meant Bayern Munich needed a victory to end level with Werder Bremen and had to win by six clear goals to be awarded the title. Unfortunately for Bayern Munich, they drew 3-3 with Schalke ending the season just one point behind Werder Bremen.

Bayern Munich – 2000-01

The 2000-01 run-in was one of the saddest ever thanks to the heart of Schalke fans breaking. Bayern Munich conceded a 90th-minute goal to Hamburg giving Schalke the title. However, the Blues’ celebrations would last despite fans storming the pitch to celebrate. Four minutes after assuming they had won the title, delirious fans in Gelsenkirchen were brought to tears of sadness, as news filtered through that Bayern Munich had scored in the fourth minute of stoppage-time versus Hamburg to salvage a draw and title.

Borussia Dortmund – 2001-02

Borussia Dortmund’s title wins under Jurgen Klopp may make fans forget about the club’s incredible final day title win at the start of the millennium. Heading into the final day, the club were fighting it out with Bayern Munich and Bayer Leverkusen for the championship. With over 70 minutes left in Borussia Dortmund’s final game of the season, however, it looked like they would finish third behind the other two clubs. Locked at 1-1 with Werder Bremen, Ewerthon popped up to score the winner with just 16 minutes left in the season to secure the title for Borussia Dortmund.

Stuttgart – 2006-07

Stuttgart and Schalke took the title fight down to the wire on the final day of the 2006-07 season. Schalke, who had never won the Bundesliga, had a seven-point lead after matchday 26. However, the Blues began dropping points as Stuttgart reeled in the league leaders. Going into the final day, Stuttgart had a two-point lead over Schalke. Stuttgart’s final day didn’t start well as they fell behind to Energie Cottbus while Schalke took an early lead against Bielefeld. Stuttgart’s young squad wasn’t fazed as Thomas Hitzlsperger equalised and Sami Khedira scored either side of halftime to break Schalke’s hearts.